Part D – Project 1

sketch

Part D

Working with the layout and presentation of a paragraph proved to be much more difficult than I had anticipated. When I started out I realized that I was not attracted to paragraphs that appeared overly complex and difficult for the brain to piece together. Due to this revelation I kept my layouts quite simple and minimalist.

For my first piece I broke the paragraph up into sections based on the timing of events, and putting emphasis on the first and last line within the paragraph, making them take up a larger quantity of space and therefore capturing the reader’s attention.

For my second piece I centered all the lines and then balanced out the sentences so they would create a unique silhouette. This meant finding appropriate places for the lines to be separated so that the sentences would still flow when reading the paragraph, but also look visually appealing when looking at the paragraph from a distance.

This being my first experience with typography and layout meant I had to test things out and find what I was drawn to and reflected my taste and visual interests the best. I think in the future I will be able to take things to the next level as my skills begin to expand and my technique grows. This is definitely a skill that will improve over time and with practice, but having the basics is a great place to start and I can’t wait to use the things I have learned to create work in the future.

Leave a comment